You can view Gmail in many different languages.

Change your language settings

  1. Open Gmail.
  2. Click the  gear in the top right and select Settings.
  3. At the top of the page, select a language from the Gmail display language drop-down menu in theLanguage section.
  4. Click Save Changes at the bottom of the page.

The Gmail interface will appear in the language of your choice after you click Save Changes. Remember, your Gmail's display language doesn't affect the language in which your messages are sent and received.

Available display languages

Choose from any of the following languages:

Amharic, Arabic, Basque, Bengali, Bulgarian, Catalan, Cherokee, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, Estonian, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Gujarati, Hebrew, Hindi, Hungarian, Icelandic, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Kannada, Korean, Latvian, Lithuanian, Malay, Malayalam, Marathi, Norwegian, Persian, Polish, Portuguese (Brazil and Portugal), Romanian, Russian, Serbian, Simplified Chinese, Slovak, Slovenian, Spanish, Swahili, Swedish, Tagalog, Tamil, Telugu, Thai, Traditional Chinese, Turkish, UK English, US English, Ukrainian, Urdu, Vietnamese, or Welsh.

Some of the features available in the English setting may not be available when you select another language setting. Google is working hard to make all of Gmail's features available in every language setting, so thanks for your patience.